Speaking Hope

I look into a person’s eyes and see all of their heartbreak materialize. I keep hoping that they will blink and that somehow all that pain will disappear from their eyes, but it doesn’t. I feel a twinge of desperation as I realize that nothing I do—listen, nod, pray, talk—can remove their pain. In one last ditch attempt I think that I might be able to hug it away, or just cry hard enough that it will disappear. It doesn’t work. That look is still there. All I want to do is fix it. And I can’t.

This world is sick, and when I see people’s hearts breaking under the weight of pain I cry out to God asking Him to send Jesus back and make it all right. Now.

Knowing the love of Christ does not instantly make everything “okay.” There is no deal written in the Bible implying that Believers will never experience hurt. But there is comfort in the hope and peace that comes from a saving relationship with Jesus Christ.

My soul is bereft of peace; I have forgotten what happiness is; so I say, “My endurance has perished; so has my hope from the Lord.”  Remember my affliction and my wanderings, the wormwood and the gall! My soul continually remembers it and is bowed down within me. But this I call to mind, and therefore I have hope: The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.”  The Lord is good to those who wait for him, to the soul who seeks him. (Lamentations 17-25)

My desire is to kill that heartbreak, but since I cannot, I am going to “weep with those who weep (Romans 12:15),” and I am going to speak those words of hope and peace into their lives.

One thought on “Speaking Hope

  1. Pingback: A Woman of the Faith « thelordswordsword

Leave a Reply

