Work Well Done

I consider myself blessed by my job. I enjoy what I do and the people I do it with/for. Some people cannot say that about what they get up for in the morning, so I am very grateful. However, as is natural, a feeling of discontent sometimes finds its way into my heart, because this job is not what I ultimately want to do with my life. Eventually I want to see myself writing part time; building and maintaining a home for my family; being a good wife to my husband; and teaching my children from home. No “offense” to my current working position, but those occupations carry a lot more value to me. The truth is that they always will.

But, as always, God is faithful in giving me something to think about and apply in my present situation. Ironically, I had to read an article for school today titled, “Why Work?” by Dorothy Sayers. My professor pulled out a few specific quotes that really touched me:

“Work should be looked upon, not as a necessary drudgery to be undergone for the purpose of making money, but as a way of life in which the nature of man should find its proper exercise and delight and so fulfill itself to the glory of God.” – Dorothy Sayers

and…

 “The Church’s approach to an intelligent carpenter is usually confined to exhorting him not to be drunk and disorderly in his leisure hours, and to come to church on Sundays. What the Church should be telling him is this: that the very first demand that his religion makes upon him is that he should make good tables”. – Dorothy Sayers

In and of itself, the work I do—filing, data entry, typing, billing—is not that important, however, the fact that I am doing this work for others (because it makes their job of supporting their families easier) is important.

 I have the opportunity, 20 hours a week, to bless people by doing things that are necessary for their success, but that they don’t have time to do. That gives me fulfillment. I am working so that I can contribute to paying for my education. That gives me purpose. I work hard, which gives me pride and ownership. I can do my work joyfully and purposefully even though it sometimes feels like a stepping stone towards something bigger.

Find pride and purpose in your work well done. God does. 

Leave a Reply

