The Heart

Jeremiah 17:9 says that, “the heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick.” My heart is black. The thoughts, feelings and desires that flow from it are sick and disgusting in nature. On my own I am miserable and helpless. I can try to climb my way out of the darkness, but I end up just crawling back into the hole I came from. The only way out is perfection, and I tried that, so I just sit there–wallowing in and gorging on my sin.

But one day a man–perfect–crawled into my black heart. He lived, cleaning my heart with his own perfection. He died, rinsing my heart with his blood. He rose from the dead, giving me permanent hope. Because of him, God now looks at my heart and says, “clean.”

The man is Jesus. He knows me, and he loves me anyway. 

2 thoughts on “The Heart

  1. The beautiful message of Easter.
    Hallelujah! Jesus is the perfect hope for our imperfect nature!
    Thank you Emily for your encouragement.
    He is Risen!

Leave a Reply

