Moment

This is a poem written by a friend of mine (who wishes to remain anonymous). It really blessed me and I wanted to share it, so I received permission from the author to post it here. Do me a favor and don’t steal anything from it, okay?

Moment
 
Sometimes I live for the future
Sometimes I long for the past
But when I live within the moment,
True beauty’s within my grasp
 
A feeling of perpetual loneliness,
and pain the past may bring
Old memories of times now lost,
cutting deep, the emotional sting
 
The future, the trap, perilously tempting,
hidden within the abyss, time thought wasting
The eager bane of dreamers,
their hopes reluctantly fading
The goal, for a moment beyond reach,
a light slowly failing
 
A sense of total beauty and peace,
in the moment lies
The pattern of God’s symphony revealed,
his glory reprise
 
To live in loneliness is no life at all,
To walk without faith will lead to a fall
I choose to exist here and now,
waiting on God’s inevitable call
 
~Anonymous~
 
2 thoughts on “Moment

  1. ::happy sigh::
    So very helpful! I struggle with anxiety a lot. Please tell your friend thanks for sharing!
    And thank you for sharing as well. 🙂 This encourages me… I should post a song I just wrote the music to… it might help people as well.
    …time thought wasting…
    ….his glory reprise…
    What beautiful truth! This is what I need to keep my eyes on, not worrying about this and that.

Leave a Reply

