A Little Sleep

I get excited, no…strike that, giddy when I realize that I can finally go to sleep. I’ve actually found myself grinning as I jump into my bed and giggling (a tad insanely) as I snuggle under my big fuzzy blankets. I lay there reveling in the fact that I’m actually here!! In bed!! Going to sleep!! It is an amazing experience.

But, what is sleeps’ purpose? I know that sometimes I actually use sleep to escape from my problems or as an excuse to delay what I know I need to accomplish. Wrong.

Proverbs has harsh words for people who sleep too long and neglect the work that God has set before them.

“How long will you lie down, O lazy person? When will you rise up from your sleep? A little sleep, a little rest, a little folding of the hands to rest, and being poor will come upon you like a robber, and your need like a man ready to fight.” – Prov. 6:10-11(NLT)

“Do not love sleep, or you will become poor. Open your eyes, and you will be filled with food.” – Prov. 20:13(NLT)

Slight ouch, no? But God also has words like this;

“Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the Lord watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain. It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.”­ –Psalm 127:1-2 (ESV)

Here’s what I am seeing as I read through Scripture (there is obviously so much more than what I’ve noted here), sleep is like food—it is necessary and it is enjoyable but it’s proper place is in moderation and in need.

So going forward, I will continue to be excited when I get to go to bed after a long day of school, work, basketball (yes it’s a game…but it’s painful and draining too) and the emotional ups and downs of my life. I will thank the Lord for the blessing of rest. Yet, I will also not stay too long in my comfy bed. I only need so much rest, and the excess time spent under the covers needs to be cut off and put to better usage in spending more time with the Lord, in my studies etc.

Thoughts?

6 thoughts on “A Little Sleep

  1. Well-put, Emily!
    And thank you for sharing that verse about the positives about sleep for Christians. Sometimes it’s easy for me to look only at the negative “don’t do’s” in the Bible and ignore the positives, which bogs me down and gets me worried easily. lol.

    I really agree with this post. My thoughts… I struggle with getting up too! “Haha, who doesn’t…” is something I hear a lot, but what about those people you know that consistently get up at 5 am to go to hard work and stay up until 11 on hard projects? If you know anyone like this I recommend talking to them about it and asking them if they have any advice for you about getting into the habit of being that disciplined. Earlier last year I was super-undisciplined (I’m still working on it), but I asked and was honest about my concern for developing good habits, and his advice really helped!
    Oh yah, another person that has helped motivate me in this area is none other than the fabulous Marli 😀

    • Oh thank you Karis! Yes, that Psalm’s passage was quite a relief. 😉

      Yes, there was a period of time where Marli and I would take turns calling each other in the morning to help the other person get out of bed. 🙂

      • Oh yes! I remember that. That was actually one of the things that encouraged me. You two calling each other to help each other have time to work out in the morning encouraged me as well. A kind of shrapnel effect haha! You were both working so hard at it, it made me realize I wasn’t the only one struggling, so I didn’t give up quickly. Thanks for that!

  2. Karis:

    Really?! That’s so funny! The conversation was pretty much kept to “you can do it,” “I hate this,” “have a good day,” “love you.” =P So glad that you were encouraged. 🙂

Leave a Reply

