Big Little Brother

photo (9)The picture on the left is of me and my little brother** in our little toddler years of 2 and 4 1/2. I made a Christmas ornament out of it (tacky gold paint with noodles and a paper plate…oh yeah!) when I was about 5, and every year since the two of us have fought over who gets to put it on the tree.

My little brother knows me better than anyone (besides my parents) in the world. My dearest and closest friends know my heart, my desires, my dreams, my fears, my aspirations, my feelings and my thoughts–but they have not seen my worst, or even my most normal days. They have not seen me in a temper, when I’m angry, when I’m irritable, when I am overly emotional , when I am a brat, when I am stressed, when I am so goofy that all of my friends would think I’ve snapped–my brother has seen me at every point, and he still loves me and is a best friend to me. He doesn’t get me all the time (I don’t get him either, so we’re good) but he knows me and makes an effort to be the best brother that he can possibly be by being a man of God first, and then loving his two sisters in the best way that he can.

Well, after having 15 years of having a little brother I now have a younger brother–he is now taller than me. I knew it would happen some day, and I really don’t mind. 😉 photo (8)There is still debate as to whether or not the picture truly shows that he’s taller, but the point is he’s not shorter than me anymore.

Brother, it’s February 4th so Happy 15th Birthday! I am grateful for your friendship. Neither of us have been perfect during our 15 year friendship, I know that we have clashed dozens and dozens of times, but we’ve learned how to reconcile with each other. You’re the best younger brother ever. I know I’ve probably embarrassed you by writing all of this, but just be grateful that I didn’t post those music videos we made…

Happy 15th Birthday!

photo (5)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

**His name has been purposefully excluded to protect me and my family. It’s frustrating, but in this world it’s better to be safe than sorry. If you comment (and know his name) please…don’t use it! 🙂 Sorry!

12 thoughts on “Big Little Brother

  1. Happy Birthday No-Name Person!
    My, what an angelically pristine and handsome portrait of the two of you (that last one)! 😉

  2. Happy birthday kiddo!!!! Your taller then me now too haha
    Very well said Em 🙂 this is probably one of my favorite of all your blogs

  3. Great post. Reminds me of my sister and I. Her comment was “I’ll always be taller then you” She is 5 foot 2 inches, I’m 6 feet 2 inches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

