New Year’s Resolutions

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions-572x433[1]I do not think that I have ever written out a list of New Year’s Resolutions. I may have mentally come up with a few, but they stayed up in my head and were never put on a list. This is actually rather shocking as I am a fanatic when it comes to lists.

Maybe this is the year to start.

I can do nothing without the strength of the Father and I make these Resolutions with his ultimate glory in mind. A lot of life is a head of me. I don’t know what it entails, but 2013 is a part of it. God’s got a plan, and I need to be paying attention to the little things in the here and now to ensure that I am ready to carry it out. AND, by doing the little things, I AM carrying about his plan. Hence, the resolutions.

1. Spend more time with my little sister.

I just have not put enough effort into creating a stronger bond between he two of us.
While I have been getting better of the last few months, I know I need to give more.

2. Be disciplined in going to bed and getting up at a decent hour.

This is an extremely difficult one for me. I love getting up early, but staying up late is sometimes really tempting when this to-do list just has not been accomplished. I need my sleep and the best way for me to stay on top of what God has for me is to just stay on a schedule.

3. Journal more.

I’ve mentioned how I journal a lot, but I think I should invest perhaps a little more time into writing my thoughts down.

4. Write LOTS!

I have just decided to major in English (yay!) so I will be doing a lot of writing with school, but I really want to devote more time to writing here on my blog as well as a few story/book ideas that are running around in my head!

5. Read more.

I love love love love to read. However, all to often, instead of feeding my mind my good literature I tend to gravitate toward Netflix to give my body a break. First ten to finish by the end of this year?

1. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo
2. Total Truth – Nancy Pearcy
3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4. Erasing Hell – Francis Chan
5. The Silmarillion – J.R.R. Tolkien
6. The Weight of Glory – CS Lewis
7. John Adams – David McCullough
8. Amazing Grace: William Wilberforce and the Heroic Campaign to End Slavery – Erik Metaxas
9. Orthodoxy – Gilbert K. Chesterton
10. Phantastes – George MacDonald

Haha- I know, an extremely random list, and there is SO much more, but these are all books I’ve been meaning to read and haven’t so…

6. Ministry.

I want to serve more. Right now I feel like I am doing ll that I can handle (not much), but I know that there is more and I want to keep my eyes open for whatever God might have for me.

7. Run.

I do not like jogging. It’s boring. I’ll tolerate it under certain conditions–like running WITH people. But I prefer to do something while I run i.e. basketball. That said, I need to be running on off-practice days and then continue after the season ends. I found out Saturday that I CAN run 3.5 miles…no more excuses.

8. Memorize scripture.

From 2 years old all the way up to 8th grade I was memorizing scripture as part of an AWANA club. But then sports, speech and intense school came along and club had to be dropped. Well, the memorization got dropped too. The Word is how I fight my battles–how can I fight when I am unarmed?

9. More prayer time.

I have the tendency to read the Bible, pray for a few minutes and then just go. I need to spend more time talking with God–listening for his voice, praising/worshiping him, praying for others.

There are literally a million things I could put on this list. I am not perfect, and there will always be ways to improve. But these were the things that popped to mind!

If you want to be really inspired with your Resolutions, check out this post over at my friend Marli’s blog Cause for Joy. ๐Ÿ™‚

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

5 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Under a Violet Moon « thelordswordsword

    • I’ll check that link out! Thanks!

      Haha! I actually have no particular reading order for this list. And yes, a few of those books have been suggested by you…I’m working on it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

