Reading HIS Story

I have been trying to write this for about three weeks, and it just has not been coming out right. Finally it came together for me yesterday afternoon.

Ever since my cousin’s wedding I have this constant analogy of life being a story in my mind. I apply it to everything and daily I see the beauty of the picture. One of the ways I was reminded of this beauty was during my devotionals the other week. I sat staring at my Bible, at a complete loss as to what to read and meditate on. Then, in a few page flips I found myself at the beginning of the New Testament reading Jesus’ story. Reading Jesus’ story.

I have often heard people talk about “history” being His/God’s story–he wrote it, it’s his. True. But He is also the main character of the entire book, and Jesus’ time in this earth is at the center, the heart. He is whole point of God’s book.

I realized that in my daily “go get ’em” attitude I would go to the Psalms, Proverbs and Epistles searching for something that I could immediately apply in my life that day in a tangible way. Not a wrong thing to do in the least. However, I could not remember the last time I simply read thought The Gospels about Jesus’ ministry, His thoughts and His teachings, His life. It seems like a “duh” as I write this, but the obvious tends to get away from me at times. It’s like the older I get, the more I distance myself from “Sunday school” stories…when those are the most powerful. After all, that’s why Jesus spoke in parables, right?

God’s words are accessible to me in so many forms. I take it for granted. I am realizing more and more that it is a privilege to read this book. It is a blessing and an opportunity to learn directly from those who physically walked and talked with Jesus during his time on Earth by reading their personal, eye-witness writings.

When was the last time you read through His story?

7 thoughts on “Reading HIS Story

  1. Emily, thanks for the reminder to read His Word and think about His story. Often we are looking to get something in particular when we read the Bible and we forget the power in the story of Christ.

  2. Ah, this is good! With life, things get bogged down and we easily forget the richness of the Word. Something that helped me remember the beauty of the Biblical story was Tyndal’s 24/7 One Year Chronological Bible. It took me almost a year and a half to get through it (::sheepish grin::) but it was radical to read it chronologically! Especially seeing the Psalms woven into David’s story, and to read the Gospel’s compiled. Loved it!

    Heres the Bible I was referencing: http://www.amazon.com/24-One-Year-Chronological-Bible/dp/1414314116/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354500368&sr=8-1&keywords=nlt+chronological+24%2F7&tag=acleint-20_

    P.S. I tried to find an ESV chronological Bible for you Em… They don’t have them πŸ˜›

    • Wow! I had never heard of a chronilogical Bible! I mean, you could figure it out on your own, but still! That is so cool! I can’t wait to check it out! Hahaha, you know my family WAY to well! πŸ™‚

      • There’s another kind of chronological BIble – the Common Book of Prayer. Traditional churches will go through the entire Bible every single year, in morning and evening prayer and communion on Sunday. Some parts will even be read multiple times in the year – specifically the book of Psalms, which will probably be done about 3-4 times.

  3. It’s interesting that you posted this blog this week because the subject of this week’s DTS lecture is ‘God’s Story’. Also, I have used a chronological Bible study sheet that tells you what to read each day and you can choose which translation you want to use, so ESV would still work.

Leave a Reply

