Books

So, I had a choice tonight: write about the election tomorrow, or write about books. I chose books. 🙂

How can I describe a book? How can I explain the wonderful feeling of getting pulled in to a delightful story? How do I share the truly magical experience of reading?

The written word is special. The ability of an author to take me to another world; showing me the things that his characters see; helping me to feel the things his characters feel; conveying a message through a story—to give me an adventure—is a beautiful art. When I read a fictional book, I feel like I am a part of the story and each character and idea is firmly planted in my imagination because I’ve experienced it.

Reading a book is unlike watching a movie. With a movie, the story is given to you: this is what the story IS. With a book, the story is told but is then left up for personal interpretation: go imagine it in your own way. That is just special.

I pray that I end up with someone who at least appreciates this story-loving side of me and will support me in my unashamed indoctrination of our children to loving every book I read and loved when I was little. Don’t worry, I have enough books to cover both girls and boys…and if I only have boys, well, sorry, they’re reading Little Women and Anne of Green Gables! If I only have girls, they’re still going to read Lord of the Rings, Sherlock Holmes, Hardy Boys and so on.

Go read an old favorite book of yours! It’s one of the best ways to relax and pass the time in an enjoyable way!

9 thoughts on “Books

    • Hey Grandma!

      Oh most definitely!! Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit are in my top 3 favorite fiction of all time! Don’t ask me what the other two are…because I have no idea! 🙂

      Love to you too!
      Emily

Leave a Reply

