Love With Abandon

What does it mean to be vulnerable? Well, according to The American Heritage Dictionary it means, susceptible to physical or emotional injury. Hmm, what does susceptible mean? It means (same source) likely to be affected. So, to be vulnerable essentially means to be likely affected to physical and emotional injury.

Now, read this quote:

“To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”[1]

~ C.S. Lewis stated in his book The Four Loves

Uh-oh.

Love is dangerous. When I step into a friendship; share thoughts from the heart; give of myself, I risk getting hurt in the end. Unfortunately, the pain of a relationship disintegrating is simply inevitable. But fear of experiencing that pain cannot stop me from loving others.

Isaiah 53 (and each of the gospels) describes the emotional and physical pain that Jesus came under during His time on earth. He, in His immeasurable love for us, endured so much. And how do we respond on the whole? We spit in His face. Did it stop Him? Did He retaliate? No. He instead sacrificed His very life in a horrible, sickening, bloody, awful, gut-wrenching, humiliating death because He loved us. He loved us. Think about the ridicule that rung in His ears day in, and day out. He was (is) the God of the entire universe, the maker of all things, the author of our stories, the ruler of the nations, the judge of right and wrong, the giver of all things good…and He came down to us. He was vulnerable. He was hurt. He is hurt every time we reject Him—and yet “the steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” [2]

Jesus loves us with a vulnerable love. I am called to love as Christ loves me, so, I am called to be vulnerable.

This week:  love people with abandon. It will hurt. Jesus never said that it wouldn’t.

[1] Thank you to Owl City/Adam Young for bringing this to my attention! Simply perfect!

[2] Lamentations 3:22-23

10 thoughts on “Love With Abandon

  1. Well, I guess I should have my Mom edit my posts BEFORE I put them up! Changed the title and made some edits.

    I hate grammar so much. I just makes everything so complicated for me! =P I should also probably know my catch phrases like “love WITH abandon” a little better. 🙂

  2. You get better and better, Em. When are you gonna quit? When you have a minute you might tell me a little about Owl City. You know in different times and places the owl has symbolized many things.. In renaissance art it symbolized evil. See Hieronymous Bosch, “The Garden of Earthly Delights.” In ancient times the bird was the familiar of Athena, a goddess who was very far up the hierarchy of polytheistic deities. it was also the symbol of the city and culture of Athens. It was called the “golden” by many writers. Athens was undoubtedly one of the early civilizations culminating thus far in our own. But if you read how they lived you will be astounded by their barbarity and corruption. Actually, this shouldn’t surprise us. The first stage of any progression leading to the high, the good and the great begins at zero. The Christian scholars who began John I “In the beginning was the Word” were students of the Greek Plato.

    • Ha-ha! I’m not planning on quitting any time soon Grandpa! 🙂

      Hmm. Wow. I had no idea about any of that! I can tell you this much–Owl City doesn’t have much to do with any of it! 🙂 Owl City is the name of the popular “one man band,” Adam Young. He is a follower of Jesus and he posted the quote by C.S. Lewis on his blog, which is where I found it. 🙂

  3. Lamentations 3. Nuff said.

    The growth in loving and friendships and pain. Thanks for teaching me much over the last few years about this! Your thoughts and conversations have been precious.

Leave a Reply

