No Fun

I consider myself to be a fairly disciplined person. I get what I need to get done…done and on schedule. But, let’s just say that I got a little behind in geometry…and now have a lot of lessons to catch up on before the end of October while studying for a U.S. History I CLEP test, a Spanish class AND speech writing/competing. I really cannot tell you how much I regret procrastinating.[1]

[That was background information]

So, the other night I began lamenting my woes of school and scheduling to my dad. After I was done venting I said, “well, at least I’m more disciplined and get more done when I have a lot to do.” Dad just nodded his head and gave me a smirk. “What?!” I asked, “I am more productive!” Dad, still smiling just said, “Yeah, but you are absolutely no fun to be around!”

I needed that. It is just SO true. When I know that I have a lot to get done, I get so focused on my work that regard for other people’s feelings/needs gets promptly tossed out the window. Everything is about me, the schedule that I have to keep and the school work I must get done—interruption is not taken very, err, well.

In these coming weeks of insaneness my goal is to keep my attitude towards my family loving. How difficult will this be? Let me put it this way…in the middle of writing that last sentence I snapped at my brother for making an infinitesimally small amount of noise. Ironic? Yes. Lots of room for improvement? Yes.

So, how am I going to do this?

  1. God’s Word. I’ve got to be in it every morning just soaking it in. Thank you Lord for providing me with an instruction manual of direction and encouragement in my time of need.
  2. The Holy Spirit. I need to be calling on Him every moment of the day. He is there at all times. It is by His strength that I live.
  3. My parents. Cool thing is, they’re perfect for me and they know exactly what I need when I need it. Trust me—I am going to need a few reprimands, hugs, walks and “Emily, just…RELAX(s)!! in the next few weeks.
  4. My friends. I know that I can count on them for encouragement, making me laugh when I start stressing out, hugs and praying for me. *This is a hint. Especially on the hugs part…and if you want to buy me a Starbucks or something…I’m totally cool with that. JK JK*

My encouragement to you this week is that whatever stress is going on in your work/school… don’t let it  transfer into how you treat your husband/wife, kids, siblings or friends. It’s not their problem or their fault! Why take it out on them?! Go to the scriptures, ask the Lord to help you through your work load—He will provide for you a way of endurance and an exceeding joy in the knowledge that you are doing His work. Go to your family and ask them for prayer, encouragement and accountability to make sure you’re staying on task and then go and serve them the way they need you to.

Okay. Off the soapbox now…kind of just realized I’m preaching to myself here!


[1] Hey, Stage 1 Adulthood, right? Learning lessons…even if they are repeats?

7 thoughts on “No Fun

  1. It’s good that you recognize how important it is to not take out your stress on others. Some people seem to go through their whole life and never learn that lesson.

    Reading the Bible everyday is great too, it’s God’s chance to talk directly to you.

    Good luck with your school work, you seem very smart, I’m sure it will all work out for you. 🙂 God bless!

  2. Hi Emily, I’m sharing around this video by renowned Christian apologist Professor William Lane Craig, and wanted to give you the opportunity to see it. There are some amazing testimonies in this, and I’d love to hear what you thought of it if you can find the time to see it. God bless! 🙂

Leave a Reply

