Love and Worth

I get it. I cannot do anything on this earth, I cannot accomplish any earthly work of spiritual service that will ever make me worth something more in the eyes of Jesus. What makes me think that doing more than the next person will make Jesus love me more? His love for me is already so deep that he suffered the ultimate physical and spiritual pain and darkness just so that I can be with Him. And He did this for me before I even drew breath. I didn’t have to do anything in the first place to make Him love me!!! He already did!

Do I continue to serve Him and love Him out of a heart of obedience and gratitude? Of course! But it can’t turn into a “who is more grateful” contest. No, it comes down to this: I need to love Jesus the way that HE wants me to love Him. Just like in relationships you have to learn how to speak the other person’s love language, I need to stop trying to love Jesus the way I want to love Him (the way other people are) and start loving Him the way He wants me to. And what is that? To obey His words. To develop my relationship with Him through the intercession of the Holy Spirit and to cultivate a heart that is wholly devoted to the Lord. It means taking the things He wants me to do (College. Writing. Home-service. Church. Friendships.) and taking them to Him–asking Him how He wants me to love Him in those actions.
Jesus’ love is for all eternity. My worth is found in Him.

10 thoughts on “Love and Worth

  1. I ono.. best way to love Jesus is to love yourself with honest choices he taught us to make.

    Good stuff.

    – Inked Pen

    • Inked Pen! Thank you for stopping by!

      Hmm, I think that the love of self is an extremely dangerous way to go. Colossians 3 calls us to put on the new self in Christ Jesus. But yes, I do agree that God wants us to live out joyfully (out of a heart of love and obedience to Christ) the life/mission He has set out for us–proclaiming His message. 🙂

      Many blessings to you Sir!

  2. Hi Emily, great post, really deep. I think you are right to suggest that doing more doesn’t make God love you more. However I do think doing more makes God happier with you. Consider Luke 19:15-26:

    15 “And so it was that when he returned, having received the kingdom, he then commanded these servants, to whom he had given the money, to be called to him, that he might know how much every man had gained by trading.
    16 “Then came the first, saying, ‘Master, your mina has earned ten minas.’
    17 “And he said to him, ‘Well done, good servant; because you were faithful in a very little, have authority over ten cities.’
    18 “And the second came, saying, ‘Master, your mina has earned five minas.’
    19 “Likewise he said to him, ‘You also be over five cities.’
    20 “Then another came, saying, ‘Master, here is your mina, which I have kept put away in a handkerchief.
    21 ‘For I feared you, because you are an austere man. You collect what you did not deposit, and reap what you did not sow.’
    22 “And he said to him, ‘Out of your own mouth I will judge you, you wicked servant. You knew that I was an austere man, collecting what I did not deposit and reaping what I did not sow.
    23 ‘Why then did you not put my money in the bank, that at my coming I might have collected it with interest?’
    24 “And he said to those who stood by, ‘Take the mina from him, and give it to him who has ten minas.’
    25 (“But they said to him, ‘Master, he has ten minas.’)
    26 ‘For I say to you, that to everyone who has will be given; and from him who does not have, even what he has will be taken away from him.

    • Hello Jason! 🙂

      What a great passage! It is such a great reminder that God has given us so much, and has called us to take action using those blessings. And yes, I think that it brings God great joy when His children seek to glorify Him with their service and their “doing.” But I don’t think that just doing more necessarily brings God joy. I think that my actions and services bring Him glory and joy when I’m acting out of obedience, gratitude and love for Christ…not when I’m just trying to compete with others or out of a sense of drudgery. Thoughts?

      Thank you so much for reading and for sharing!

      • I would say that our motives for doing something are part of the action itself, so “just trying to compete with others or out of a sense of drudgery,” would definitely not be positive. But Daniel 12:1-4 says:

        1 ¶ “At that time Michael shall stand up, The great prince who stands watch over the sons of your people; And there shall be a time of trouble, Such as never was since there was a nation, Even to that time. And at that time your people shall be delivered, Every one who is found written in the book.
        2 And many of those who sleep in the dust of the earth shall awake, Some to everlasting life, Some to shame and everlasting contempt.
        3 Those who are wise shall shine Like the brightness of the firmament, And those who turn many to righteousness Like the stars forever and ever.
        4 “But you, Daniel, shut up the words, and seal the book until the time of the end; many shall run to and fro, and knowledge shall increase.”

        So those who work for God to save souls will shine, they will have glory, but those who are not wise and don’t turn many to righteousness will not shine. Here also, I believe it is the effort of the person that God rewards. You can’t make someone turn to God, but you can witness to them and try to convert them, and I believe that effort is what God really rewards.

        Speaking of which, I just put up a new page titled Biblical Evangelism, I’d love to hear what you thought if you’d like to stop by, here’s the link:

        http://jasontrivium.wordpress.com/biblical-evangelism/

Leave a Reply

