Important Trifles and Little Blessings

“There is nothing so important as trifles.” – Sherlock Holmes

Over the last two months this quote (taped to the wall in front of my desk) has encouraged me to pay attention to the seemingly unimportant “trifles” of my every day life and to realize how special each little moment is: to not take my time here on this earth for granted. Isn’t it crazy how a random quote by a fictional British detective can convey so much truth?

“When I give thanks for the seemingly microscopic, I make a place for God to grow within me.” – Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts

“Joy is the realest reality, the fullest life, and joy is always given, never grasped. God gives gifts and I give thanks and I unwrap the gift given: joy.” – Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts

Shortly after reading that Sherlock Holmes quote, Ann Voskamp’s book inspired me to write down all of those little “trifles,” and “blessings:” those sweet things that pop up in the everyday mundane. Below is my list from the last few weeks. May this encourage you to not take the little blessings of life for granted and to not get so caught up in your problems, frustrations and hurt that you can no longer see the ‘specialness’ of everyday life.

  1. Waking up miserable because I thought it was 5:45am and time to get up and then finding that it was only 2:00am and that I had another 3 hrs. and 45 min. to sleep!! (Hehe, I was so excited I couldn’t get back to sleep for a while!)
  2. Finding clouds instead of sun in the morning! SoCal fall is almost here!
  3. Burning and then eating marshmallows.  (Burning them black. The only way to go.)
  4. This verse, “We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” 2 Chronicles 20:12b
  5. Drinking from a red tea cup.   
    The Tea Cup
  6. Getting that shaky, excited, adrenaline pumping feeling after drinking two large cups of coffee. 🙂
  7. Brushing my teeth with a new tooth brush.
  8. Driving on the freeway by myself listening to “Holy” by David Crowder (very loud) and singing at the top of my lungs.
  9. Realizing my growing obsession with all things British!
  10. Wearing bandannas as headbands for 3 days straight. (That’s right…bringing ‘em back)
  11. Finishing quadrillion loads of laundry.
  12. Jumping up and down when I realized that I just earned 6 college credits in 2 weeks! *Bam*
  13. Discovering my semi-dark humor side…I’m not sentimental when it comes to Disney movies…I crack up every. single. time. Tell me if I’m not the only one… 
  14. Taking naps!
  15. Inside jokes.
  16. Running (in a very cheesy manner) through a meadow with some friends.
  17. Reading this article.
  18. Receiving this quote from my friend.
  19. Riding my bike full speed down-hill for I don’t know how long! (I am NOT thankful for the ride back up…at 5,000 ft. altitude. No bueno.)
  20. Air conditioning.
  21. Watching this video (This made me laugh…in that exasperated kind of way!)
  22. Eating my Dad’s Dump-It Desert made in a Dutch oven.
  23. Listening to Mumford & Sons! (Hehe- all things British) 
  24. Dancing around the kitchen to TobyMac as I cleaned up the dinner mess.
  25. Talking with a good friend.
  26. Sitting on a log in the mountains admiring the full moon.
  27. Walking through some very Narnia looking woods.
  28. And speaking of Narnia…
  29. Singing with my brother and sister as we cleaned up our campsite.
  30. Learning to laugh at myself. (I’ve learned that it’s better to laugh at myself than to get all embarrassed. Life is better when you laugh. If you want specifics…ask me. 🙂 )
  31. Writing. Just writing.
  32. Inserting a lot of photos into this post!

Try it! You will be amazed at the shine it puts on your day. Even if you don’t physically write things down, do it mentally—always thanking God for how he blesses you. Let me know how it goes and feel free to comment with your thoughts and let me know how it goes if you try it!

Joy!

5 thoughts on “Important Trifles and Little Blessings

  1. Hi Emily,
    I found our photographs from our 6 week trip to Great Britain – can’t wait to show them to you.

    In a nutshell your latest post is about the importance of being grateful. Right? Such a valuable trait.

    I didn’t know you liked the REAL Pooh or had ever met him. You are richer for that. Can’t read his words though – but blame it on my eyes.

    Love,
    Grandma Hawkes

    • Oh good! I can’t wait to see them Grandma!

      Exactly. I have a friend who even calls this her “Gratitude List.” Another calls it her “Happy List.” Whatever works. 🙂

      I love you too.
      Emily

    • Thanks for letting me know Pastor Dave! 🙂 I am very honored that you’re taking the time to read my work–I hope that it blesses and encourages you.

      Enjoy your tea!
      Emily

  2. Hey There Emily,
    Just wanted to send a note to let you know, I’m now an official follower of Emily’s Windowpane 🙂 I’m going to go through and read some of your older stuff with a mug of tea in hand. I’m very proud of you and very blessed to know you.

    P.D.

Leave a Reply

